Poppies

Poppies by Benoit Aubry http://benoitaubry.deviantart.com

 

As a kid in the Bahamas, I remember poppies being sold every year. This was new to me – the only thing sold every year back in the US was Girl Scout cookies! I didn’t really understand why the poppies were being sold, but particularly at my second school, Xavier’s College, the peer pressure made me bring money to school so I could buy one. I had the vague understanding that it was to help people.

Last week, a woman was standing outside the local grocery store with poppies. The proceeds were going to help veterans. I bought a poppy and remembered the poppies of my childhood.

The funny thing is, I had never seen an actual poppy until someone posted one on Facebook this weekend! This made me want to learn more, and I was surprised to find that poppies come in more colours than red! There are California poppies, which are yellow:

 California poppies at Bartlett Lake, Arizona by Doug Dolde

 

blue Himalayan poppies:

 Himalayan blue poppy near Gumburanjon in Zanskar, India, July 2008 by Bob Witlox

 

and even purple poppies!

 Geogre at English Wikipedia (Later version(s) were uploaded by Drat at en.wikipedia.)

 

Most people know that poppies are the source of opium, morphine, heroin and codeine; which is why the poppyseeds on your morning bagel can cause you to fail a drug test.

I learned that poppyseed oil can be used for cooking and flavouring. Since I like the taste of sesame seed oil, that might be something to try, although Wikipedia didn’t mention if using the oil would also cause you to fail your drug test…..

 

Hope your Memorial Day was peaceful.

 

Photos taken from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poppy

 

3 thoughts on “Poppies

  1. Another good blog.

    Following the trench warfare which took place in the poppy fields of Flanders, during the 1st World War, poppies have become a symbol of remembrance of soldiers who have died during wartime.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    1. Thanks. I chose to use poppies to commemorate the day, rather than the nationalistic typical post with a US flag that I have seen by many others today. ‘Ours’ are not the only to have lost their lives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

